February 26, 2014

Free Story

Posted in Writing tagged at 11:43 am by Van Aaron Hughes

Random Fire illoAbyss & Apex magazine has decided this year to drop its subscription firewall and make all of its archived fiction available for free. That’s a whole lot of excellent stories you can now sample without charge. A couple Abyss & Apex pieces I’ve recommended in the past are “Deutoroi” by Samantha Henderson and “The Coldest Room in the House” by Lon Prater, but there’s plenty more good stuff to be found there.

This also means my story “Random Fire” is now publicly available. I’m very happy about this, because that particular story was deliberately written for publication on the Web, so I’m glad to have it accessible there for free. The story does not work quite right in other formats. You’ll have to read it to see what I mean. It’s my most gimmicky story so far, and my only attempt at time travel, but I’m still rather fond of it.

Leave a Reply

