October 17, 2013

Story Sale

Posted in Writing tagged at 11:22 am by Van Aaron Hughes

I just got word that my story “Seven Tips to Enjoy Your Time in the Unreal Forest” has sold to Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show!

I’m hugely excited about this for several reasons. First, I was working on another long, discouraging streak of rejections. Second, IGMS is one of the best markets in the field. Just in the past year, it has published work by such top-notch writers as Eric James Stone, Ken Liu, Nancy Fulda, Matthew Rotundo, Rahul Kanakia, Beth Cato, and many many others. It’s great to be in company like that. Third, I really believe in this story, but it’s not heavy on genre elements, so I wasn’t sure it would sell even though it’s gotten a lot of positive feedback. I’m very happy editor Edmund Schubert was willing to take a chance on it.

Fourth, and perhaps most importantly, IGMS is a SFWA-qualified market. This is my third sale to a qualifying market, which means I am eligible to join the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. By rule, the real writers have to let me in the clubhouse!

Incidentally, “Seven Tips” is the story I will be reading at MileHiCon this weekend, and I’m bringing cookies, so if you’re in town come check it out.

Leave a Reply

