February 25, 2013

Story Published

Posted in Writing tagged at 2:28 pm by Van Aaron Hughes

F&SF Mar-Apr 2013The March/April 2013 issue of The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction has been spotted in the wild (specifically, at the newsstand of my favorite place to shop for new books, The Tattered Cover in Denver). This issue contains my story “The Long View,” alongside stories by such major authors as Naomi Kritzer, Sean McMullen, Deborah J. Ross (aka Deborah Wheeler), Albert E. Cowdrey (who has two stories in this issue, one under a pseudonym), among others. On a sad note, two of the authors in this issue passed away before seeing their stories appear in print — rest in peace, Mark Bourne and Steven Utley.

F&SF is one of the three most important print magazines for science fiction and fantasy, along with Analog and Asimov’s. While “The Long View” is my seventh published story, it marks my first appearance in one of the big three magazines, so a very special occasion to me.

“The Long View” is a science fiction piece, set on the first insterstellar spaceship. The story begins:

What makes a person decide to desert everyone she knows and leave the whole world behind?
My name is Emzara Ghali-Gordon, and the first time I did it was easy.

If you happen to get a chance to read “The Long View,” by all means let me know what you think. Even if you don’t like it, I’m excited just to know that people are reading something I wrote.

Leave a Reply

