April 19, 2012

K.D. Wentworth (1951-2012)

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:54 pm by Van Aaron Hughes

I was deeply saddened to learn today of the loss of K.D. Wentworth.  (Image by Robert Castillo, used with his gracious permission.)

Kathy was the author of such novels as The Imperium Game and Moonspeaker, and she was a four-time Nebula nominee for her short fiction.

Kathy was also the coordinating judge for the Writers of the Future Contest for the past several years, and all recent Contest winners–myself included–owe her a great debt of gratitude for picking our stories out of the untold thousands of submissions she read. It was a pleasure and honor to get to know her at the WOTF workshop that she ran with Tim Powers.  It was obvious that she was strongly committed to helping new authors develop their talents.

When I first met Kathy at the workshop, she told me she loved the ending of my WOTF story, then proved her point by reciting my own ending back to me.  It was one of my great thrills to date as a writer.

Kathy will be dearly missed.

Leave a Reply

